Windows performance tweaking myths are a popular topic of discussion online, but many of the claims made about tweaking are simply not true. In this article, I’ll debunk five of the most common Windows performance tweaking myths. ..


In my latest article on Lifehacker, I examined some of the most offensive myths out there regarding PC performance tweaking, and debunk them once and for all:

Disabling QoS to Free Up 20% of Bandwidth Make Vista Use Multiple Cores to Speed Up Boot Time Clearing Out Windows Prefetch for Faster Startup Cleaning the Registry Improves Performance Clear Memory by Processing Idle Tasks Clean, Defrag and Boost Your RAM With SnakeOil Memory Optimizer Disabling Shadow Copy/System Restore Improves Performance Enable SuperFetch in Windows XP Disabling Services to Speed Up the Computer

If you are a system tweaker, I absolutely recommend reading through the article.

Debunking Common Windows Performance Tweaking Myths – lifehacker.com

In case you missed some of my other posts over there, you can also read them here:

Smart and Easy Ways to Reduce Printing Costs Closing Microsoft Office’s Annoying Clipboard Bar Save Time and Typing with Outlook 2007’s Quick Parts How to Make Windows Vista Less Annoying

Note that I’m only writing part-time over there, and all of you, my awesome subscribers, still come first.